News Archive

Latest News
Select Year
Australia Council’s leadership programs now open
15 Aug 2018

NEWS Adam Harding CCP
Adam Harding appointed as new Director of the Centre for Contemporary Photography (CCP)
8 Aug 2018

Slow Art Collective's Archi Loom A was presented to celebrate the reopening of Ararat Gallery TAMA
Ararat Gallery TAMA reopens following major redevelopment
6 Aug 2018

TarraWarra Biennial 2018: From Will to Form installation view of Claire Lambe’s work, Witnessing Bacon 2018
TarraWarra Museum of Art, 2018
Photo: Andrew Curtis
Courtesy of the artist; Sarah Scout Presents, Melbourne; and Francis Bacon Studio at Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane, Dublin, Ireland
Q&A with Emily Cormack, Curator of the TARRAWARRA BIENNIAL 2018: FROM WILL TO FORM
6 Aug 2018

PGAV AGM Bunjil Place LW
New appointments to the PGAV Board
27 Jul 2018

Rhana Devenport
Rhana Devenport as the new Director of the Art Gallery of South Australia
26 Jul 2018

Damon Moon, Untitled blanks from the Subject /Object project, 2018, slip cast ceramic, dimensions variable. Courtesy and © the artist. Photo: Andre Castellucci.
Subject / Object project
25 Jul 2018

The $15,000 Mornington Peninsula Shire / Beleura - The Tallis Foundation major acquisitive award winners James Tylor & Laura Wills
MPRG announce winners for the 2018 National Works on Paper
24 Jul 2018

Veronica Pardo appointed as new CEO at Multicultural Arts Victoria (MAV)
19 Jul 2018

Image credit: TM PHOTO / Tanja Milbourne
PGAV Members to receive Creative Victoria Engaging Audiences Funding 
18 Jul 2018

WAG First Nations Internship from left John Clarke, Vicki Couzens, Christina Saunders, Robbie Lowe with Robbie Lowe Senior. Courtesy of WAG
First Nations Project Space and Internship at the WAG
16 Jul 2018

NEWS NGV Contemporary
NGV Contemporary
3 Jun 2018

aitb_vic promo image
Artists in the Black across Victoria
28 May 2018

GIPPSLAND Simon Gregg Director
Simon Gregg appointed as new Director of Gippsland Art Gallery
25 May 2018

Deakin University Contemporary Small Sculpture Award 2018
25 May 2018

Pippa Milne, Image by Evan Mery
Pippa Milne appointed Senior Curator at Monash Gallery of Art
17 May 2018

Andrew Browne,The awakening 2017, oil on linen. Reproduced courtesy of the artist and Tolarno Galleries, Melbourne.
2018 Geelong contemporary art prize finalists announced
24 Apr 2018

Exhibition image of Yayoi Kusama’s Flower obsession 2017 on display in NGV Triennial at NGV International 2017. Supported by the NGV Women’s Association, with travel support from the Australia-Japan Foundation of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Photo: Eugene Hyland.
NGV Triennial most visited exhibition in NGV’s 157-year history
19 Apr 2018

Via The Age. Polixeni Papapetrou pictured with her works at a 2012 show at Melbourne's Nellie Castan Gallery. Photo: Wayne Taylor
Photographic artist Polixeni Papapetrou dies aged 57
12 Apr 2018

The National Portrait Gallery in Canberra. Photo: Andrew Meares
National Portrait Gallery to close for building repairs
4 Apr 2018

John Leslie Art Prize
29 Mar 2018

ACMI to shut for nine months for first major revamp in 20 years
29 Mar 2018

Louise Paramor, Panorama Station 2011, Southern Way McClelland Commission 2010. Image courtesy of Southern Way.
Southern Way McClelland Commission 2018 Call for Entries
29 Mar 2018

Gordon Morrison
Congratulations to Gordon Morrison ahead of his retirement
28 Mar 2018

ATW Design prize for Architects 2018
Australian Tapestry Workshop announce hypothetical site for 2018 Design Prize for Architects
21 Mar 2018

Rebecca Billings, PwC leads workshop
PGAV Professional Development Program, Developing a Compelling Business Case
13 Mar 2018

Photo by Josh Raymond
Artist Angelica Mesiti and curator Juliana Engberg selected to represent Australia at the Venice Biennale 2019
9 Mar 2018

Photo via The Australian. Photo by Tricia Watkinson.
Nick Mitzevich announced as the next Director of the National Gallery of Australia
9 Mar 2018

Via Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory
Louise Tegart appointed as the new director of the Art Gallery of Ballarat
8 Mar 2018

 Tour of the Rigg Design Prize at the National Gallery of Victoria as part of the PGAV Curatorial Intensive 2015.
REGIONAL BURSARIES - PGAV Professional Development Program
1 Mar 2018

Matthew Harding with his work Nano for Sculpture by the Sea 2006; Photography Jamie Williams
Vale Matthew Harding
27 Feb 2018

Ryan Johnston Buxton Contemporary
Ryan Johnston announced as the inaugural Director of Buxton Contemporary
20 Feb 2018

Chunky Move dancers performing inside Nendo’s Manga Chairs, 2015 who are performing at part of NGV Triennial EXTRA Photo: Eugene Hyland
500,000 visit NGV Triennial in opening weeks
31 Jan 2018

Raquel Ormella 'Wealth for toil #1' 2014. synthetic polymer paint, hessian, metallic thread and ribbon, 220 x 270 cm. Courtesy and © the artist, Milani Gallery, Brisbane and QUT, Brisbane
NETS Victoria announce latest exhibition and tour in partnership with Shepparton Art Museum
14 Jan 2018

GALLERY Bunjil Place, Opening event, Sept 2017
PGAV welcomes two new Members
20 Dec 2017

CI - Rigg Design Prize Tour_edit
2018 PGAV Professional Development Program now available
15 Dec 2017

Registrations Open for 2018 Public Galleries Summit
15 Dec 2017

EXHIBITION Gippsland Art Gallery Peter Madden, Sleep with moths II 2008, 768x536
Gippsland Art Gallery reopens following a two-year redevelopment
15 Dec 2017

NEWS Adam Harding NETS
Adam Harding appointed as Chair of NETS Victoria Board
14 Dec 2017

GALLERY Burrinja Theatre external - photo Christine Wood
Burrinja receives a $1.25 million Victorian State Government grant
14 Dec 2017

2017 Robert Salzer Foundation Acquisition Fund Recipients
10 Dec 2017

Lisa Byrne appointed as Director at McClelland Sculpture Park & Gallery
5 Dec 2017

DCA logo
National Indigenous Languages Convention announced
1 Dec 2017

Craft Victoria moves to new Melbourne CBD location
14 Nov 2017

City of Melbourne collection now online
12 Oct 2017

Brigid Hansen
La Trobe Art Institute (LAI) announces first participant in the Emerging Curators Program
10 Oct 2017

Gerard Vaughan
Gerard Vaughan announces his retirement as Director of the NGA
26 Sep 2017

Eric Nash3x2
PGAV Appoints Professional Development Officer
20 Sep 2017

Major new visual arts initiative for First Nations artists and curators announced
12 Sep 2017

CAG_Front_Final_3 by 2 ratio
Castlemaine Art Museum Update
10 Aug 2017

NETS Victoria Exhibition Development Fund (EDF)
31 Jul 2017

Castlemaine Art Museum to close
28 Jul 2017

Duldig Studio announces new Director
26 Jul 2017

Geelong Gallery short term closure
24 Jul 2017

Creative Victoria provides an update on the progress of Creative State 
28 Jun 2017

Australia Council for the Arts release results for the National Arts participation Survey
28 Jun 2017

Art Gallery of NSW to receive $244 million in funding from the state government for Sydney Modern project
13 Jun 2017

NETS Victoria appoints a new Director
13 Jun 2017

Latrobe Regional Gallery to host René Magritte exhibition
8 Jun 2017

Monash Gallery of Art appoints new Gallery Director and Chair
6 Jun 2017

Public Galleries Association Victoria (PGAV) Logo
Website by: