VTS group work_2016

Artist of the Year: 1973–2023


Artist of the Year: 1973–2023

27 May 2023 – 12 Jun 2023

This exhibition brings together the works of the artists who, annually since 1973, have taken out the Artist of the Year Award.

Held since 1973, the Artist of the Year (AOTY) Award Exhibition showcases the year’s best artistic talent in painting and sculpture. This award is unique as it is not awarded by a committee or judge, but by the peers of the winning artist and demands sustained performance over the exhibiting year.

The lists of winners reads like a who’s who of Victorian artists: Julian Bruere, Jennifer Fyfe, Clive Sinclair, Gregory Smith, Amanda Hyatt, Ted Dansey, David Taylor, Ben Winspear, to name a few.

The artworks show an astounding variety of styles and subjects. While some of the earlier winners have long gone, their works have survived and remained as part of the VAS Collection.

While under-represented in the first few years, female artists now make up nearly half of the winners: Gwendolyn Krumins, Jennifer Fyfe and Mary Hyde amongst them.

Image: Broth, oil by Jennifer Fyfe

Gallery Details

Victorian Artists Society (VAS)
430 Albert Street,
East Melbourne VIC 3002

T: 03 9662 1484
E: admin@vasgallery.org.au

Opening Hours
Weekdays: 10am-4pm
Weekends: 11am-4pm

Get Directions

Gallery Info

The Public Galleries Association of Victoria (PGAV) acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi-Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the Traditional Owners of the lands where our office is located, and all Traditional Owners of country throughout Victoria and Australia. We recognise Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples enduring traditions and continuing creative cultures. We pay our respect to Elders past, present and emerging.