VTS group work_2016

2022 John Leslie Art Prize

John Leslie Art Prize

2022 John Leslie Art Prize

10 Sep 2022 – 27 Nov 2022

The biennial John Leslie Art Prize is one of Australia’s most prestigious prizes for landscape painting. The Prize was inaugurated in 2000 and is named after the Gallery’s Patron, John Leslie OBE (1919—2016). The continuation of this $20,000 acquisitive prize is made possible through the generous ongoing support of the John Leslie Foundation.

Gippsland Art Gallery is delighted to announce this year’s finalists for the $20,000 John Leslie Art Prize for landscape painting:

Raymond Arnold (TAS), Min-Woo Bang (NSW), Peter Baylor (VIC), Jo Bertini (NSW), Peter Cameron (NSW), Donovan Christie (SA), Ash Coates (VIC), Geoff Coleman (VIC), Peter Daverington (VIC), Kate Douglas (QLD), Jeremy Elkington (VIC), Brett Ferry (VIC), Sara Freeman (ACT), Jennifer Goodman (VIC), Alizon Gray (VIC), Ross Halfacree (NSW), Andrea Hopgood (VIC), Sue Jarvis (VIC), Dylan Jones (QLD), Klara Jones (VIC), Melissa Kenihan (VIC), Claire Kirkup (VIC), Elizabeth Kunoth Kngwarray (NT), Robert Maclaurin (VIC), Harley Manifold (VIC), Jennifer Marshall (TAS), Jarrad Martyn (VIC), Kerry McInnis (NSW), Frank Mesaric (VIC), Gary Miles (VIC), Saffron Newey (VIC), Eleanor Noir (SA), David O’Brien (VIC), Margaret Parker (VIC), Annika Romeyn (ACT), Maree T Thomson (VIC), J Valenzuela Didi (QLD), Judith Van Heeren (VIC), Nina Volk (VIC), Julie Ward (VIC), Darren Wardle (VIC), Brett Weir (VIC), Naomi White (QLD), Vyvian Wilson (NSW), Greg Wood (VIC), Richard Young (VIC), and Lucila Zentner (NSW).

A total of 455 entries were received for the coveted national prize from all states of Australia. Artists had the option to enter up to two paintings each. In 2022, a total of 50 paintings have been shortlisted, by 47 artists (three artists had two paintings shortlisted).

The list of finalists includes works by leading and emerging artists from around Australia and spans a wide range of styles and approaches from the field of contemporary landscape painting.

Each of the finalists will be vying for the $20,000 acquisitive first prize to be announced at Gippsland Art Gallery’s Spring Season Launch on Friday 9 September at 6.00pm by Mayor, Wellington Shire Council, Cr Ian Bye. A second, non-acquisitive prize of $1,000 will also be awarded to the Best Gippsland Work.

The shortlist of finalists was selected by a panel comprising:

Dr Sheridan Palmer, Art Historian, Writer and Curator
Melanie Caple, Associate Curator, Gippsland Art Gallery
Simon Gregg, Director, Gippsland Art Gallery

The winners will add their names to the growing Hall of Fame for the Prize, and cement their place in Gippsland art history.

Gallery Details

Gippsland Art Gallery
70 Foster Street
Sale VIC 3850
T: +61 3 5142 3500
E: galleryenquiries@wellington.vic.gov.au
W: gippslandartgallery.com

Opening Hours
Monday - Friday: 9am–5.30pm
Saturdays, Sundays & Public Holidays: 10am–4pm

Get Directions

Gallery Info

The Public Galleries Association of Victoria (PGAV) acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi-Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the Traditional Owners of the lands where our office is located, and all Traditional Owners of country throughout Victoria and Australia. We recognise Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples enduring traditions and continuing creative cultures. We pay our respect to Elders past, present and emerging.