VTS group work_2016

2022 A.M.E Bale Travelling Scholarship and Art Prize Exhibition of Finalists


2022 A.M.E Bale Travelling Scholarship and Art Prize Exhibition of Finalists

25 Nov 2022 – 18 Dec 2022

The exhibition of finalists showcases the impressive works by the artists selected by the judging panel in the Major Award Travelling Scholarship, Oils or Acrylics, and Works on Paper Award categories. The A.M.E Bale Travelling Scholarship and Art Prize is awarded to Australian artists who have demonstrated talent and achievement in traditional styles. The art prize is intended to encourage, support and advance classical training of emerging artists (in their early to mid-career) at any stage of life, who are pursuing the study and practice of traditional art and who desire to study the works of old masters.

Alice Marian Ellen Bale (1875-1955) was known as one of Australia’s pre-eminent flower and still life painters of the early 20th century.  She established the A.M.E Bale Travelling Scholarship and Art Prize through her will to support Australian artists in perpetuity. The judging panel is comprised through the Twenty Melbourne Painters Society Inc who provide expert assistance to the trustee – Perpetual Trustee Company Ltd – in judging the award, taking into consideration the implementation of both the spirit and letter of Miss Bale’s will.

Image: Eward Essing, Backyard, Florence Street (detail), 2020, oil on board, 60 x 40 cm. Winner of the Major Award 2020 A.M.E Bale Travelling Scholarship.

Perpetual_Logo_Positive_Dark_Blue_RGB (003)

Gallery Details

Glen Eira City Council Gallery
Corner Glen Eira and Hawthorn Roads
Caulfield VIC 3162
T: (03) 9524 3333
W: Visit website 

Opening Hours
Monday to Friday: 10am–5pm
Saturdays & Sundays: 1pm–5pm
Closed public holidays

Entry is Free

Get Directions

Gallery Info

The Public Galleries Association of Victoria (PGAV) acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi-Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the Traditional Owners of the lands where our office is located, and all Traditional Owners of country throughout Victoria and Australia. We recognise Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples enduring traditions and continuing creative cultures. We pay our respect to Elders past, present and emerging.