VTS group work_2016

2018 Indigenous Ceramic Award (ICA)

2016 ICA winning work by Kaiela Arts: Jack Anselmi and Cynthia Hardie, Midden, 2016. Collection Shepparton Art Museum © the artists. Image Christian Capurro.

2018 Indigenous Ceramic Award (ICA)

25 Aug 2018 - 11 Nov 2018

The 2018 Indigenous Ceramic Award (ICA) in August this year celebrates and supports the rich and diverse use of the ceramic medium by Indigenous artists and art collectives and acknowledges the unique talents of ceramic artists.

The 2018 ICA is the sixth in the series of SAM’s biennial Awards, showcasing new and exciting developments in the field. It contributes to the Art Museum’s significant holdings of Indigenous ceramic art, and provides cultural exchange opportunities for Indigenous artists from regional Victoria and around Australia.

The 2018 shortlisted artists are:

  • Dean Cross, Worimi, ACT
  • Jackie Wirramanda, Wergaia, VIC
  • Jan Goongaja Griffiths, Miriwoong/Ngarinyman – Waringarri Aboriginal Arts, WA
  • Janet Fieldhouse, Torres Strait Islands, QLD
  • Jock Puautjimi, Tiwi – Tiwi Design Aboriginal Corporation, NT
  • Penny Evans, Gamilaraay/Gomeroi, NSW
  • Yhonnie Scarce, Kokatha/Nukunu, SA

The seven shortlisted applicants have been invited to present a substantial body of new work for display at SAM from 25 August to 11 November 2018. Accompanying the exhibition will be a series of public programs and associated events that will provide skills and knowledge exchange. A full colour exhibition catalogue will also be produced and available for purchase from the SAM shop.

Judging the finalist in the 2018 ICA are: Stephen Gilchrist, Associate Lecturer of Indigenous Art, University of Sydney; Genevieve Grieves, Manager, First Peoples Department at Museums Victoria; and Dr Rebecca Coates, Director, Shepparton Art Museum.

The 2018 ICA’s Project Curator is Belinda Briggs, Community Engagement Officer – Indigenous, working with Anna Briers, Curator, Shepparton Art Museum.

Previous Awards winners include, Kaiela Arts artists, Jack Anselmi and Cynthia Hardie in 2016, Bankstown Koori Elders Group in 2014, Janet Fieldhouse in 2011 and 2007 and Danie Mellor in 2009.

The 2018 ICA is generously supported by the Sir Andrew and Lady Fairley Foundation and Mr Allan Myers AC QC.

The ICA was established under the patronage of acclaimed artist Dr Gloria Thanakupi Fletcher in 2007. As the Award is increasingly recognised as one of Australia’s significant Indigenous cultural opportunities, there has been increasing interest and participation in the Award from solo artists and collectives in both remote communities and urban centres since its first iteration.

Image: 2016 ICA winning work by Kaiela Arts: Jack Anselmi and Cynthia Hardie, Midden , 2016. Collection Shepparton Art Museum © the artists. Image Christian Capurro.


Gallery Details

Shepparton Art Museum (SAM)
70 Welsford Street, Shepparton VIC 3630
T: +61 (0)3 5832 9861
W:  www.sheppartonartmuseum.com.au

Opening Hours
Daily: 10am to 4pm 
Public holidays: 1pm - 4pm Closed New Year’s Day, Good Friday and Christmas Day.

Entry is free.

Get Directions

Gallery Info
Public Galleries Association Victoria (PGAV) Logo
Website by: